biography

Image


Born in 1966, Anne-François de Serilly made the choice at the age of 25 to wander off the path carved out for him and embrace the life of an artist. During his early years of training, he decided to study the paintings of the great masters of the 17th and 18th centuries. He would imitate their style with patience, mindful of making their techniques his own and perfecting the art of drawing. With the help of these masterpieces, he perceives painting to be a required school, in which each canvas is designed, well thought-out, leaving nothing to chance.

Armed with this invaluable education, Sérilly would go on to acquire many experiences and sources of inspiration. He returns to Europe after spending 5 years in Brazil, absorbing its bright and intense colors, and develops a passion for Russia. At the same time, he develops other preferences in his themes : the ambiance of the 1930’s, the world of games, dance and the circus arts, a fascination for fashion – and the list continues on with no end point.

It has been said that the work of Sérilly bears a certain resemblance to that of Tamara de Lempicka. The artist is indeed always in pursuit of geometrical simplicity and bold perspectives. We can observe a parade of bodies amidst an often carefree and light existence, as light as the draped dresses adorned and unadorned by enchanting creatures... Slit leather skirts, nude backs and stiletto heels occupy the paintings, offering mirrors and lipstick to the eternal feminine revisited.

Amid the geometric patterns which echo one another, between two parallels or in the boxes of a chessboard, the curve of a hip appears, or the roundness of a breast, a world where curves are mixed with straight lines. That’s what makes our heads spin and eventually knocks us off our feet.

biographie

Image


Né en 1966, Anne-François de Serilly choisit à 25 ans de renoncer au parcours qui lui était tracé et se décide à embrasser la vie d’artiste. Durant ses premières années d’apprentissage, il prend le parti d’être l’élève des grands maîtres de la peinture des XVIIème et XVIIIème siècles. Il les imite avec patience, soucieux de s’approprier leurs techniques et de parfaire sa maîtrise du dessin. Par la fréquentation de ces chef-d’œuvres, il conçoit la peinture comme une école d’exigence où chaque tableau est pensé, chaque composition réfléchie, se refusant de laisser place au hasard.

Avec son précieux bagage, Sérilly peut désormais multiplier expériences et sources d’inspiration. De retour en Europe après avoir vécu cinq ans au Brésil, puisant dans ses couleurs vives et crues, il se passionne ainsi pour la Russie. D’autres thèmes de prédilection apparaissent dans le même temps : l’atmosphère des années 1930, l’univers du jeu, la danse et l’art du cirque, une fascination pour la mode — une liste à laquelle l’artiste se refuse à mettre un point final.

On a pu dire de l’œuvre de Sérilly qu’elle avait une certaine filiation avec celle de Tamara de Lempicka. L’artiste est en effet toujours en quête de simplifications geométriques et de perspectives audacieuses. On assiste à un défilé de corps au milieu d’une existence parfois frivole et légère, aussi légère que les drapés des robes qui habillent et déshabillent des créatures aux allures enchanteresses… Jupes de cuir fendues, dos nus et talons aiguilles peuplent les toiles, offrant miroirs et rouges à lèvre à un éternel féminin revisité.

Au milieu de motifs géométriques qui se font écho, entre deux parallèles ou dans les cases d’un échiquier, surgissent un galbe de hanche ou la rondeur d’une poitrine, tout un univers où les courbes se mélangent à des armatures rectilignes. C’est là ce qui nous entête et finit par nous faire chavirer.